Message from the Chair: 2020 DPS Election Results

It is my pleasure to announce the results of the 2020 DPS elections. The turnout this year was outstanding as over 45% of the membership voted in this election, topping last year’s record turnout of 41%. Thank you to the DPS membership for  your strong participation.

Congratulations to Diana Blaney, who is the incoming Vice-Chair, to Jessie Christiansen and Kelsi Singer, incoming Committee members, and to Maya Yanez, the first Student Representative to the DPS Committee. These elected members will begin their terms of service after the Members meeting at the 52nd Annual DPS meeting in October.

The Division for Planetary Sciences relies on volunteers for its leadership positions and we thank all members who were willing to run for these elected positions. A special thanks to our Nominating Subcommittee, Carrie Nugent, Matthew Knight, and Desireé Cotto-Figueroa, for assembling the 2020 slate of candidates, Secretary Anne Verbiscer, for running the elections and to the AAS for their technical support.


Amanda Hendrix

DPS Chair


2 Aug 2020