DPS 2022 Elections


The 2022 election is now open, and will close at 11:59pm ET on August 12, 2022.This election has two components: voting for Division leaders and considering changes to the DPS Bylaws.

LEADERSHIP: This year we’re choosing a new Vice-Chair, two DPS Committee members, and one Student Representative to the DPS Committee. The Vice-Chair will become Chair in October 2023.

BYLAWS: Please review the DPS Bylaws Markup before voting FOR or AGAINST approval.

To vote you should have already received an email asking you to cast your ballot. If you do not see this email in your inbox, please check your spam/junk folder. If you still do not see it, contact the secretary.

Each email contains a link with a unique code that will bring you to the ballot site. There is no need to enter your AAS login information this year. You will be able to review the candidate statements and cast your vote.



The DPS Nominating Subcommittee has identified the following candidates for the 2022 DPS elections for Vice Chair, Committee, and Student Representative. Information and position statements for all candidates have been collected into this single PDF.


Vice Chair (1 to be elected):

Joe Spitale, SETI Institute

Carol Raymond, NASA JPL


Committee (2 to be elected):

Jennifer Hanley, Lowell Observatory  

Shawn Brooks, NASA JPL  

Flaviane Venditti, University of Central Florida

Driss Takir, NASA JSC


Student representative (1 to be elected):

Alex Rousch, University of Texas at San Antonio

Samuel Myers, University of Arizona

Robert Melikyan, University of Arizona


Per the DPS Bylaws, additional candidates for Vice Chair and Committee, supported by a petition of at least 20 DPS members, may be nominated by June 21st. Please send any nominations to the DPS Secretary, Maria Womack, at [email protected].


The DPS Committee thanks the members of the Nominating Subcommittee for their dedicated service to the DPS:

Desiree Cotto Figueroa (Chair), Alessondra Springmann, Morgan Cable