DPS 2024 Elections Candidate Slate


The DPS Nominating Subcommittee has identified the following candidates for the 2024 DPS elections for Vice Chair, Committee, and Student Representative

Vice Chair (1 to be elected):

  • Anthony (Tony) Colaprete – NASA Ames Research Center
  • Scott Murchie – Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory

Committee (2 to be elected):

  • Conor Nixon –  NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Hannah Jang-Condell – NASA Headquarters
  • Mariek Schmidt – Brock University, Canada
  • Takehiko Satoh –  Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency

Student Representative (1 to be elected):

  • A’Laura Hines – George Mason University
  • Andrew Shumway – University of Washington

Per the DPS Bylaws, additional candidates for Vice Chair, Committee, and Student Representative, supported by a petition of at least 20 DPS members, may be nominated by June 14th.  Please send any nominations to the DPS Secretary, Denise Stephens, at [email protected].

The DPS Committee thanks the members of the Nominating Subcommittee for their dedicated service to the DPS:

Morgan Cable (chair), Tim Livengood, and Jessica Noviello

2023 Icarus Best Student-Led Paper

Congratulations to Teng Ee (Tony) Yap, Winner of the Icarus “Best Student-Led Paper” Award.

We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2023 Icarus “Best Student-Led Paper” Award. Teng Ee (Tony) Yap’s paper, ” The NC-CC dichotomy explained by significant addition of CAI-like dust to the Bulk Molecular Cloud (BMC) composition” https://doi.org/10.1016/j.icarus.2023.115680 which appeared in the November 15, 2023 issue of Icarus.  The paper was selected by the independent Icarus Board of Advisory Editors and was among five nominated for the Award. 

Detailing their reason for selecting Tony Yap’s paper as the winner, the board stated, “The paper presents a model for the formation of isotope anomalies in solar system materials based on mixing among primordial reservoirs. In contrast to other recent studies, the authors demonstrate that mixing between CAI-like and bulk-molecular cloud reservoirs can explain observed isotope trends without a third reservoir representing CI chondrites and asteroid Ryugu. This work advances the field by providing a self-consistent model of early solar system formation that can be tested with further data on Fe isotopes in CC achondrites.”.”

The lead author obtained his B.A. in Astrogeophysics from Colgate University and is currently a second-year graduate student pursuing a PhD in Planetary Science at Caltech. His research lies at the intersection of isotope cosmochemistry and planetary astrophysics, and aims to offer new insights into early Solar System evolution and the planet formation process.

We wish to express our warmest congratulations to Tony and his co-author Francois Tissot on winning this Award.