Communicating with Congress

The Basics

NASA’s Budget and Planetary Science Specifics 

Links to Other Useful Information

This information is maintained by the DPS Federal Relations Subcommittee (FRS).





Public Policy

Action Alerts: 

At key times during the federal budget cycle we ask each member to write letters and make phone calls to advocate for planetary science.

Communicating with Congress: 

General tips and tools to help you advocate for planetary science with your representatives.

How to Get Involved:

The DPS Federal Relations Subcommittee has provided several quick references for a variety of tools to help people get more involved in a broad variety of advocacy topics.


Current and Past DPS Federal Relations Subcommittee Members

Contact the current FRS members at any time with your concerns.

Christine Ray2021-2022
Catherine Neish2021-present
Shannon Curry2020-present
Ali Bramson2019-present
Angela Stickle2019-present
Benjamin Cassese2019-2021
John Noonan2019-present
Amy Mainzer2019-present
Katie Gosmeyer2018-present
Angela Dapremont2018-present
Linda Spilker2017-2019
Amanda Hendrix2017-2022
Paul Hayne2017-present
Laura Woodney2016-present
Morgan Rehnberg2015-2017
Alexander Hayes2015-2019
John Hale2015-2019
Wes Patterson2014-2018
Kurt Rethersford2014-present
Diana Blaney2013-2015
Matt Chojnacki2012-2014
Britney Schmidt2012-present
Jordan Steckloff2012-2015
Kunio Sayanagi2012-2015
David S. Choi2011-2012
Makenzie Lystrup2010-2016
Carolyn R. Nugent2010-2013
Christina Richey2010-2012
Laura Seward2010-2012
Carey Lisse2009-2015
Josh Emery2008-2012
Amy Lovell2007-2012
Louise M. Prockter2007-2009
Jim Bell2006-2009
Melissa McGrath2006-2008
Dan Britt2005-2007
Mark Sykes2004-2006
S. Alan Stern2003-2005
Wesley T. Huntress2002-2005
Alan W. Harris2001-2004
David Atkinson2001-2003
Donald Davis2001-2002

DPS Federal Relations Subcommittee

The DPS Federal Relations Subcommittee (FRS) is dedicated to maintaining informational links between the DPS membership, the government agencies that support research, and the congressional committees that allocate funding.  Contact the FRS Subcommittee. The FRS is not a lobbying agent of the DPS. It exists to inform DPS members about the timing and direction of budgetary decisions to DPS members and to communicate the priorities of the DPS to government officials.  The FRS keeps the DPS membership aware of the status of the federal budget as it relates to solar system research and facilitates efforts by the membership to express their opinions to the government in a targeted and efficient manner.  The FRS also tracks the allocation of funds within agencies of importance to the DPS and keeps the membership up to date on issues.   One of the ways that the FRS informs the DPS membership is via the Public Policy pages. The FRS Officer is appointed by the DPS Committee, and serves as the DPS Liaison to the AAS Committee on Astronomy and Public Policy (CAPP). Typically, FRS members serve for three year terms, at the discretion of the FRS Officer. The DPS Vice Chair serves for a one year term on the FRS, and other committee members participate as desired. Subcommittee member duties include participating in one or more Congressional Hill Visits per year, monthly telecons, and email conversations.

Current FRS Members

Member Term Start Notes
Angela Dapremont 2018 FRS Chair 2022-present
Kurt Retherford 2014 FRS Chair 2016-2022
Louise Prockter 2023
Abhay Vidwans 2023
Colin Hamill 2022
Christine Ray 2021
Catherine Neish 2021 DPS Chair
Shannon Curry 2020
Diana Blaney 2020 DPS Past Chair
Ali Bramson 2019
Angela Stickle 2019
John Noonan 2019
Katie Gosmeyer 2018
Paul Hayne 2017 ex officio
Laura Woodney 2016
Britney Schmidt 2012 ex officio

Past FRS Members