Date: Mon, 08 Apr 2002 17:48:16 -0400
Subject: DPS Mailing #02-08: Kuiper Prize; Data release; Workshop

Important news, please note! 

       |1) 2003 KUIPER PRIZE NOMINATIONS SOUGHT                  |
       |2) PRELIMINARY RELEASE OF DS1 MICAS DATA                 |
       |3) WORKSHOP ANNOUNCEMENT                                 |



Dear Members -

Nominations for the 2003 Gerard P. Kuiper Prize are due June 30. This
prize was established by the DPS to to recognize and honor outstanding
contributors to planetary science, awarding scientists whose
achievements have most advanced our understanding of the solar system.

For purposes of this prize, "planetary science" is understood to refer
to the multidisciplinary study of the solar system and its members,
excluding work dealing primarily with the Sun or the Earth.

Candidates for the Kuiper Prize may be of any age or nationality, and
need not be members of the DPS. While primarily intended to honor
living scientists, a posthumous nomination may be submitted within one
year of a nominee's death. 

Go to, fill out the
nomination form and send it to me along with the supporting materials
listed there.  A complete nomination will be considered by the Prize
subcommittee for 3 years.  The winner will be announced after the next
DPS meeting (at which the 2002 Kuiper Prize winner, Eberhard Gruen,
will be presented his award).

Kuiper Prize winners include

1984   E.M. Shoemaker   
1985   F.L. Whipple    
1986   G.W. Wetherill 
1987   D.M. Hunten      
1988   R.A. Hanel      
1989   J.B. Pollack   
1990   V.S. Safronov 
1991   E. Anders 
1992   P. Goldreich   
1993   J.R. Arnold     
1994   J.A. Van Allen 
1995   M.J. Belton
1996   B.J. Conrath
1997   I.I. Shapiro
1998   C.E. Sagan
1999   A.H. Delsemme
2000   C.B. Leovy
2001   B. Hapke
2002   E. Gruen

The Kuiper Prize may be awarded for a lifetime of achievement or for
the earlier accumulation of substantive advances. This may be
considered our highest professional honor. 

Because of the time it takes to accumulate materials needed for a
nomination, I encourage all of you to begin as soon as possible.

Mark Sykes
DPS Prize Subcommittee Chair
Steward Observatory
University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ 85721



Dear Colleagues,

This announces preliminary online release by the NASA PDS Imaging Node
of  DS1 MICAS (Deep Space 1 Miniature Integrated Camera and
Spectrometer) images and short-wave IR spectra acquired of the comet

Over the next few months, this website will be expanded to include a
wide range of derived data products, calibration data, navigation
ephemerides, and other data.

Laurence A. Soderblom
Research Geophysicist
United States Geological Survey
2255 North Gemini Drive
Flagstaff AZ 86001
Office Phone:  928-556-7018
Fax: 928-556-7014



Workshop on Scientific Requirements for Mitigation of
Hazardous Comets and Asteroids
(A Workshop Sponsored by NASA)

Dates: September 3 through 6, 2002
Venue: Hyatt in Arlington, Virginia
(will be updated as details become available)

CONTACT: Nalin Samarasinha <>

                             Melissa McGrath, DPS Secretary-Treasurer
                                    submissions to: